The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

28187230

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: The Woman in Cabin 10

Author:  Ruth Ware

Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press

Pages: 340 (Hardcover), 352 (Paperback), 352 (Ebook)

Release Date: July 19, 2016

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

From New York Times bestselling author of the “twisty-mystery” (Vulture) novel In a Dark, Dark Wood, comes The Woman in Cabin 10, an equally suspenseful novel from Ruth Ware—this time, set at sea.

In this tightly wound story, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. At first, Lo’s stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for—and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo’s desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong…

With surprising twists and a setting that proves as uncomfortably claustrophobic as it is eerily beautiful, Ruth Ware offers up another intense read.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book quite a bit. It was rather suspenseful and I loved the mystery of it. I liked Lo, I related to her unstoppable stubbornness. I feel like many people will relate to her and feel for her. I did have some problems with this book, hence the three stars. The book started off strong but got weaker towards the last fifth of it. I felt like some of the twist I saw coming and I’m not the type to be looking for them.

Pros:

Likeable  Character: Like I said, I feel like Lo is likeable for the reader. Especially if you are insanely stubborn. The more you find out about her, the more her actions make sense. The writing for Lo is wonderful.

Suspense: I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time. It started off with a heart stopping scene and kept going.

Twist: I did say I saw some of the twists coming but not all. The ones I didn’t see blew my mind away. Ruth Ware did a great job with the big twists.

Cons:

The Ending: It seems to be a common trend to the books I been reading lately that the ending falls flat in comparison to the rest. The ending of this one gets put into that category for me. The ending is why this book falls into the 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

