The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew #1) by Carolyn Keene

 

914291

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: The Secret of the Old Clock

Author: Carolyn Keene

Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap

Pages: 182 (Hardcover), 192 (Paperback), 192 (Ebook)

Release Date: May 1, 1930

Rating: 4 out 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nancy, unaided, seeks to find a missing will, and the search not only tests her keen mind but also leads her into a thrilling adventure.

My Thoughts:

This is what started my love for reading and mysteries in general. While everyone my age was reading Harry Potter (which I haven’t even finished the third book yet), I was reading Nancy Drew. I read this and The Hardy Boys to my children. I feel like this series is under rated due to the age of it but its a great place for a young mystery fan.

Pros:

Strong Female Lead: Nancy is great role model. Always trying to stop others who are doing wrong and sticking up to the “little guy”. She is brave and intelligent and doesn’t let anything stop her from getting the answers.

Children Mystery: If you know of a child who loves mysteries, this will be right up their alley. This is a series for children in there later years of elementary school or in middle school to read. My eldest is 6 years old so I read this to my kids.

Cons:

For Kids: I think if you haven’t read this or something similar as a kid, it might be more difficult for you to get through because it is written for kids For instance, I find the first three books of Harry Potter to get through so far.

Leave a Reply

