Burn for Burn By Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

13406425

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)

Author: Jenny Han, Siobhan Vivian

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books

Pages: 356 (Hardcover), 377 (Paperback), 368 (Ebook)

Release Date: September 18, 2012

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Postcard-perfect Jar Island is home to charming tourist shops, pristine beaches, amazing oceanfront homes—and three girls secretly plotting revenge.

KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend.

LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it.

MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him.

None of the girls can act on their revenge fantasies alone without being suspected. But together…anything is possible.

With an alliance in place, there will be no more “I wish I’d said…” or “If I could go back and do things differently…” These girls will show Jar Island that revenge is a dish best enjoyed together.

My Thoughts:

I didn’t expect to liked this one. It reminded me of Pretty Little Liars but from antagonist’s view.

Pros:

Revenge: If you like YA revenge story lines and contemporary settings, this is great. It started off small pranks to bigger schemes. It was fun reading the development of their plans.

High School Problems: Asides from the revenge story line, this book deals with some real high school problems like trying to get into the your college of choice, bullying, relationships, parties. So it has your standard contemporary  themes which grounds this story well.

Cons:

Maturity: I feel for the ages of the three girls, they acted young especially Lillia and Mary. They acted liked middle schoolers while they were seniors in high school. Lastly, Kat seemed to be the only one who acted her age. She had her moments of immaturity but still acted mature in other situations. I think she was the only one who was believable about being a senior in high school. I haven’t read any other book by Jenny Han but I heard her protagonist’s acted immature. So if you have read other books by her and the maturity level of her characters made it so you couldn’t like this book, you probably won’t like this one.

Ending: No spoilers here. The ending was a twist and took a twist I didn’t think it would. I did not research on this series, I just read the synopsis and thought “Cool! Revenge Story!” I suggest not doing research of what themes or anything else that goes too deep into this series to feel the full impact of it. With that said, I didn’t like the twist. I will say though it made me pick up the next one to see how it will be played off.

 

Leave a Reply

