Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 565 (Hardcover), 562 (Paperback), 576 (Ebook)

Release Date: September 2, 2014

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Timesbest-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

My Thoughts:

This so far my least favorite book in the series. It’s not a horrible read or anything, I just didn’t like the story line in this one. In my opinion, it seemed like some character’s personalities made such a drastic change and not in a good way. Even though I did give this book 3 stars, doesn’t mean I dislike it. I see 3 stars as I liked but didn’t amaze me and that is what this book was for me.

Pros:

Celaena: I love Celaena’s iron will and it’s the reason why she is one of my favorite characters. Even though this fell flat in-comparison to the others for me, her iron will was still there and going strong.

Magic: We finally got to see tons of magic and I loved it so far. I wish I could talk more about the system and how Celaena is connected to it but I don’t want to give spoilers.

Character Development: This deserves it’s on point. Celaena’s development in this one was amazing. At this point, she is so broken and self-hating and seeing her build herself up again was amazing.

Cons:

Dragged: This felt like it just ran on and on. There was a lot of training in this… Dragon Ball Z style chapters it felt like it. There wasn’t much going on action wise but there was a lot of background history and story development going on.

Multi Perspectives: You can see from the other eyes of characters in main land but it felt like it wasn’t entire of an update to what was going on there. I wish there was more from Dorian’s and Chaol’s views to see what was going on in the castle.

The New Land:  I didn’t like this new land Celaena finds herself in… Maybe I just don’t like change.

Angst: There was a lot of it in this book. I like some angst in my characters but there is so much in this book. If you didn’t like the angst in the first two, you will probably dislike this book.

Leave a Reply

