The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

16160797

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1)

Author: Robert Galbraith

Publisher: Mulholland Books / Little, Brown and Company

Pages: 455 (Hardcover), 449 (Paperback), 550 (Ebook)

Release Date: April 30, 2013

Rating: 5 out of 5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.

My Thoughts:

Alright, if you love detective novels and J.K Rowling’s writing style, you will love this. I just started reading the Harry Potter series but this is totally more my speed. I am a big fan of things involving private investagators, cops and crime. So add mystery genre to the magicalness of J.K Rowling’s writing style, you get this great series. I almost didn’t want to give this a 5 stars because I have only read this once but this book had me on edge the whole time.

Pros:

Timing:  The pace of the book was great. I was never “where is the action?!” or “I want more character building!!” The second I started want more of something, the book gave it too me. It had the perfect amount of everything.

Writing: Like I already said, its J.K Rowling. You can’t expect anything less amazing writing and this is no exception. This book made me love and appreciate her writing more.

Robin: She.Is.Amazing. If I was a temp secretary for a private eye, I would be Robin. I loved how she was so stoked working for Cormoran to a point that she delayed job interviews. She was such a fun character and such an awesome contrast to Cormoran.

Cormoran: He is your damaged protagonist. He is physically and emotionally damaged. He had so much depth and related. I enjoyed his character and his background was so interesting.

Descriptions: J.K.R uses interesting descriptors. I thought it was amazing and sometimes hilarious. I have compared people to odd objects of what they remind me of so this made it more related to me. If you don’t like those odd ball descriptors (comparing someone’s skin color to the color corned-beef), you well find it annoying

Cons:

Law and Order: This book reminds me of Law and Order which is one of my favorite shows. If you don’t like that show or something like that, you won’t like this book. To me, this is not a con at all but I can see how this can be a BIG con to others.

Leave a Reply

