Nightshade by Michelle Rowen

8272495

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: Nightshade (Nightshade #1)

Author: Michelle Rowen

Publisher: Berkley

Pages: 352 (Paperback), 337 (Ebook)

Release Date: December 10, 2010

Rating: 3 out 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Jillian Conrad never believed in vampires-until she was unwillingly injected with a serum that was supposed to act as a deadly poison to them. Now, tormented half-vampire Declan Reese wants her blood to destroy the undead kingdom. Unfortunately, the serum has also made her blood irresistible to all vampires-including Declan, whose desire for Jillian is more than mere hunger.

My Thoughts:

I did like this but I  feel like this book could of been better since I think the story line was weak but I like the two main characters. It’s not a Twilight romance with pretty vampires. It reminds of Beauty and the Beast which is one of my favorite stories as a child.

Pros:

Jillian : She was an unexpected protagonist and I liked that. She was a normal woman who gets put into this terrifying situation with a horrific looking man. I found her reactions to certain situations believable.

Declan : I enjoyed that he was the love interest. Unlike other book with a romance, the love interest is usually very good looking. Declan looked like he was battling vampires his whole life.

Cons:

InstaLove : Yep, this has it. The Dread InstaLove. I hated it. There isn’t much to say about that.

World Building : Even though this is also in the Urban Fantasy genre, there isn’t much world building. There is a lot of driving but there isn’t much descriptions of what is around them. I mainly pictured a generic desert.

Story Line : The story line felt flat to me. There was a lot of driving and I think it could have more action or interesting events in it. I typically don’t like traveling books though.

Leave a Reply

