Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16034235

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 406 (Hardcover), 404 (Paperback), 416 (Ebook)

Release Date: August 2, 2012

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

My Thoughts:

I am a sucker for strong bad ass female characters and this definitely has that on lock down. I enjoyed Celaena a lot and I enjoyed her delevopment throughout the book. There are some typical YA fantasy troupes in the book which I found slightly annoying (love triangle) but it was done it a great way. I also enjoyed the magic system in this book.

Pros:

Celaena : I love her! She is sarcastic, stubborn and cynical but once she befriends someone, she’s 100% loyal to that person and would do anything to help/protect that person. It’s an awesome unexpected trait for an assassin.

Tournament : I loved this part in the book. I thought it was fun to see the other contestants talents. It was also a nice way to show Celaena’s talents without telling the reader what she can do, the tournament allowed the talents to be seen.

Mystery : Yes, there was a mystery. If you know me, I love mysteries since I was a child (thanks Nancy Drew). There was not much to the mystery but it fun neverless. I was able to figure it out easily but I enjoyed watching it unfold.

Magic : I don’t want to talk too much but it was interesting part of the book and it continues to evolve in the following.

Cons:

Tropes : Like must YA books, there are a lot of common tropes. I admit I got annoyed with it like the love triangle. Why does so many YA books have love triangles? Anyways, there are some other tropes but if you can look past them, you will be able to enjoy this book.

Celaena : I know I said her character was a plus but there are cons to her that made the book slightly less enjoyable for me. First is her name, how is her name pronouced? I have her name pronouced differently on Youtube. The second thing is her love for books. I have read too many YA books where the protagonist loves books, it has became a trope in my opinion. Why don’t these characters have different passions/hobbies.

Leave a Reply

