Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman

16085457

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: Shadow Scale (Seraphina #2)

Author: Rachel Hartman

Publisher: Random House

Pages:  608 (Hardcover),  470 (Paperback),  516 (Ebook)

Release Date: March 10, 2015

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I will not include a synopis for this book since it’s a sequal and it has spoilers for the first book. If you never read the first book in this duology, please check out my review on Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.

My Thoughts:

This sequel was disappointing to me. The first was so interesting and they was a mystery. This one seemed boring in comparison. I was so excited for the release and well… you know how I feel about it now.

Pros:

Characters: The characters that are in the first one appear in this one too. It saved this book for me though. I loved some many of the characters

More World: Since this goes out further than within the city walls, you got to see more of the world around. It was interesting to see how other places treated people like Seraphina.

Cons:

Protagonist: In this book, Seraphina didn’t really develop. She was on a mission to save her city but she didn’t change? Nope, impossible.

Settings: I don’t know why but the descriptions of the world didn’t have the same impact on me that the first one did. I couldn’t seem to picture the places as well as the first one.

Love Interest: You get to see him much in this book, he felt more of a small side character. It was nice about this duology but I hoped to see more of their love start to bloom more but he was barely part of this book.

Leave a Reply

