The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

12813630

Goodreads  Amazon

Title: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Author: Holly Black

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages:  419 (Hardcover), 419 (Paperback),  419 (Ebook)

Release Date: September 3, 2013

Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

My Thoughts:

(The synopsis doesn’t mention what the monsters are, I will not mention it in my review either) I usually don’t read must books about the type of creatures that this book is about but dang, this was good. Usually books about these creatures I turn away from but the first chapter of this book made me keep reading. I never read anything by Holly Black before and I understand why so many love her books.

Pros:

Monsters: I love the unique take on the monsters in this book. Like I said in “My Thoughts”, I don’t enjoy these types of monsters typically. I also like the how the transformation period when people who are infected with the virus.

Culture: I enjoyed learning about the Coldtown society and how the outside’s society’s view on the Coldtowns and the monsters. I found it believable in a way. If we had these monsters roaming about and we were able to quarantine them, it’ll probably be just like this book.

Main Character: I actually like Tana. I don’t find how she survives the massacre in the beginning of the book believable, but her personality is wonderful.

Cons:

Beginning: Even though I like the beginning, it wasn’t very believable. It did give the beginning a shock though.

Side Characters: There are some side characters that bugged me. I didn’t like their view on the monsters, I kind of wanted to slap them and tell to get to reality.

Leave a Reply

